New here … tire question

LucidKaz

Verified Owner
Cars
Grand Touring
Hi everyone … new here and excited for my first EV… technically it will be for the wifey. just ordered grand touring a few days ago and now second guessing myself on tires.

I ordered 19s figuring it would be more comfortable for my wife and kids …. But the 21s just have that cool factor …. I live in southern cali and the weather not much of a factor … anyone have any feedback on noise and comfort on 21 … is it that much different than the whole 19… not sure the the extra 20 miles of driving is a huge incentive to go smaller size … but then again I’m new to ev … Lastly … I have not yet had my call with the advisers … Is it too late to modify the order to larger tires ?
Any feedback is appreciated

Not too late to modify. You can do that when you confirm your order. I’ll let someone who actually has the car answer the specifics.

The 21s are pretty smooth most of the time, occasionally here in San Diego there is a deep manhole cover or the like that can result in a harsh jolt being transmitted to passenger cabin. Mostly the suspension does a good job. I have not driven an Air with 19’s, but I have driven other makes with 19s and 21s. The 19s are definitely more compliant. The extra side wall becomes part of the suspension Also, your unsprung weight will be lower with the 19s which also helps out the rest of the suspension. It will be very hard to quantify exactly the difference until we can drive 19s and 21s back to back. On my Yukon I went with 19 rims for comfort and for the very limited driving I do on unimproved roads. On the Air I wanted the look of the 21s and the car is smooth enough I don’t regret the choice.