Range question

bluegold85

Cars
Lucid Air Dream
I'm new to the whole EV experience but one of the big selling points with Lucid was battery range. We've had our DE for a month now and only been driving local, charging with the "daily" setting. Yesterday we decided to take a trip out to see our son who is about 110 miles away. We had things charged up to about 78%, with miles reading 368 so figured no problem at all. Unfortunately, when we reached the destination the range was already down to 180 miles, having only completed the first leg. Most all the driving was 4 lanes or interstate driving between 65-80 MPH. We ended up stressing on the way home, but made it back with about 25 miles left on the battery indicator. So we start out with 368 miles of range for a 220 mile trip and barely make it back. Realizing that the range is an estimate and road conditions, speed, etc all factor into the actual range, we were shocked at how far off that calculation was. Are we missing something, or should we be talking to Lucid customer service?

I take it from your figures that you have a Performance version with 19" tires?

EV range is highly variable depending on many factors. It's the same with gas-powered cars to some extent, but the ubiquity of gas stations causes people not to notice as much.

One of the big factors with an EV is outside temperature. How cold was it?

Speed is also a big factor. Driving 80 mph consumes 11-13% more energy than driving at 70 mph, which is the maximum speed any range tester uses (for legal reasons).

Also, maximum range is provided in "Smooth" mode, which has the lowest horsepower and torque output. Which mode were you using?

Your case does sound a little extreme, so it might be worth a call to Lucid to get their take. The kind of numbers you experienced are more like the experience I have had with our Teslas, and the Lucid should do a bit better.

Last edited: