Lucid, please roadmap this

Being a total novice, how often does the underbody get damaged from potholes? Isn't it predominantly the tires? I don't understand how useful this feature actually would be.

Depends how big the hole is. :)

pothole.png

Being a total novice, how often does the underbody get damaged from potholes? Isn't it predominantly the tires? I don't understand how useful this feature actually would be.
Honestly, I think they are mainly developing this feature for FSD. (One of the many loose ends that I often cite whenever someone tells me level 5 is right around the corner.) Right now, the car will gladly drive full speed over a speed hump, for instance. And make no effort whatsoever to go around potholes or small debris in the road, because it can’t “see” them.

Forget the suspension hijinks. Just some sort of audible warning when a pothole is coming up would be welcome. Especially if Lidar or radar could detect ones that you can’t see because of the car in front of you.

I think it’s a great feature idea. And Lucid should absolutely copy it at some point.

I do worry, though, that this is yet another potential area for “phantom” behavior. What the car does when it “thinks” there’s a pothole that isn’t there scares the crap out of me, given Tesla’s track record.

I do worry, though, that this is yet another potential area for “phantom” behavior. What the car does when it “thinks” there’s a pothole that isn’t there scares the crap out of me, given Tesla’s track record.
Yep, and in many lotions here in NYC, there are potholes everywhere. I won't be able to drive a few feet without the car breaking...

The Air does not have an air suspension, so it wouldn’t be able to adjust to potholes. Also adjusting the suspension regularly seems like it would be very uncomfortable?