Coefficient of Drag for Touring & Pure..... What does this mean?

Babyrocko1908

Referral Code - 2BFU7LV3
Verified Owner
Supporting Member
Cars
Lucid Air Touring
Referral Code
2BFU7LV3
Fellas, I'm a newbie here and some of the terminology used yesterday doesn't make sense so hopefully you car guys can explain this to me. During yesterday's event, Derek talked about the improvement of Air's coefficient of drag to an industry leading 0.197cd around the 9:50 mark of the presentation. I assume this is for the Touring and Pure Models so I have a few questions:

1) What does coefficient of drag mean in layman's terms? Does is mean the car sits a bit lower and is sleeker?
2) How is it applied to Touring & Pure?
3) Does this mean there was a slight body/frame modification for the Touring and Pure as opposed to Grand Touring & Dream?

Thanks in advance!

Fellas, I'm a newbie here and some of the terminology used yesterday doesn't make sense so hopefully you car guys can explain this to me. During yesterday's event, Derek talked about the improvement of Air's coefficient of drag to an industry leading 0.197cd around the 9:50 mark of the presentation. I assume this is for the Touring and Pure Models so I have a few questions:

1) What does coefficient of drag mean in layman's terms? Does is mean the car sits a bit lower and is sleeker?
2) How is it applied to Touring & Pure?
3) Does this mean there was a slight body/frame modification for the Touring and Pure as opposed to Grand Touring & Dream?

Thanks in advance!
"Drag" is how much the thing being measured is slowed down as it moves through air. Put the object in a wind tunnel and measure how much it is pushed back by the wind. If the wind flows smoothly over/under/around the object, it has less drag than if it is rough and catches wind everywhere. "Sleek" as you mention is a good word here.