SW experts - limits to OTA pipe?

EdL-ATX

Verified Owner
Cars
Air Grand Touring
As I super impatiently await UX2.0, I am increasingly curious about what would technically limit/throttle OTA rollouts.

I'm a hardware/Silicon engineer so not as familiar with SW limitations. Asking the resident software experts.

There really aren't many Airs in the field at this point. We're all familiar with devices where OTA updates go out simultaneously to a much broader population - many orders of magnitude higher.

So as Lucid scales, what would you speculate has to be changed in their infrastructure to push out updates to a larger population in parallel?

Obviously I'm assuming they are not artificially limiting it at this stage (which they might do if they had low confidence in the quality of the updates, for example).

Just feeding my engineering curiosity while refreshing the app constantly 😀

Lucid rolling out slowly isn't a bandwidth or technology problem. I can transmit 5gb of data to 1000 destinations in a day from a 15 year old computer. I suspect they are just overly cautious in releasing their updates incase a bug or issue is found, the scope is limited.

We follow this practice in the world of IT as well, even for highly reliable software packages -- slow deployments to ensure it's as smooth as possible.

They cant afford any negative PR or mass recalls this early into their development.

Yeah, they stage rollouts to ensure if some showstopper comes up (which there is always a chance of) they don’t brick the entire fleet.

I would do the same thing.

Incidentally, Apple and others don’t do this because they have many thousands of beta testers (aka developers) who test it before it goes live to the public.

Yeah, they stage rollouts to ensure if some showstopper comes up (which there is always a chance of) they don’t brick the entire fleet.

I would do the same thing.