Regen Braking Best Practices

Thinjake

Verified Owner
Cars
AGT, Genesis GV80
I am new to EVs and one pedal driving though I am loving it! I know that to get the best efficiency and milage, you should accelerate slowly and keep the needle within the POWER area.

For braking, is it better to keep the needle in the CHARGE area or allow it to "redline?"

For example, say I am doing 60 and have to turn shortly. Is it better to slowly release the pedal so the needle stays in the CHARGE zone a long time? or is it better to let go of the pedal all at once and let it "brake" quickly and aggressively and all at once?

I just drive in a way that makes me and my passengers the most comfortable. With passengers in the car I'm very careful to gradually ease into regen to avoid causing motion sickness.
In general this also results in efficient driving.

I just drive in a way that makes me and my passengers the most comfortable. With passengers in the car I'm very careful to gradually ease into regen to avoid causing motion sickness.
In general this also results in efficient driving.
Yes, so do I, but that doesn't answer the question.

EVs are at their most efficient at light amounts of acceleration or deceleration. This minimizes power loss due to resistive heating in motor, wiring, and battery. Light deceleration will recapture more energy from regeneration than quick deceleration.

For efficiency purposes, an EV's drivetrain can be considered a generally symmetric system that behaves the same whether it is generating positive torque (acceleration) or negative (regeneration).

Try to prolong the regen as much as you can. It’s given me higher efficiency than just letting it slam on.

Try to prolong the regen as much as you can. It’s given me higher efficiency than just letting it slam on.
I equate this to sudden fast charging versus gradual charging, the latter of which is better for the battery.