Old video of Lucid Air Prototype

Tesla2.0

Referral Code - F0ZQ8SWA
Verified Owner
Cars
Lucid Air Grand Touring
Referral Code
F0ZQ8SWA
This little gem popped up on my YouTube.
Is it already been 5 years since the prototype? Kim Java and Alex Guberman were still raw back then. I only knew Lucid 12 months ago. This is my first time seeing prototype on video.

Very interesting! The design has come a long way from the prototype. I'm glad they didn't sell to ford! Thank for posting!

This is a good way to get into the proper mindset for how the final Gravity may end up. A lot changes between concept and shipping.

Those back seats!

They were amazing and still show up occasionally in new articles and videos as if they were actually available. I think Lucid still occasionally encourages notice of them, as they showcase the remarkable feat Lucid pulled off with its "space concept" for body and cabin design.

At the unveiling of the prototype, Lucid was anticipating a car with the deep rear seat footwells that are required for the operation of the footrests of the "Executive Seating". As development advanced they realized that those footwells could accommodate four battery modules and push the range of the car far enough ahead of the rest of the industry that they could hold that lead for a while. They decided that record-breaking range was a better marketing position for launch than reclining rear seats, as buyer focus on rear seating is more an Asian market thing, while range prevails as a key selling point in other markets.

If Lucid does decide to proceed with plans to introduce "Executive Seating", I suspect it will be seen first in the Asian or Middle-Eastern market.

The rear trunk becomes little more than a large glovebox with those seats, and some early reviewers such as Marques Brownlee noted that riding with the rear seats at or near full recline was actually very disorienting.