Enthusiast Canceling after the Launch event - in Depth Reasons/discrepancies noted

Status
Not open for further replies.

C28

Cars
Rivian R1S
As a longtime follower of this forum, I wanted to share that I have decided to cancel my Touring & Pure reservations. I post this here so Lucid sees it, as I have several friends & family who reserved Lucid's at my recommendation given I am die-hard car, EV, and tech enthusiast, and I am similarly advising them to cancel. Reasons follow

1) Lucid has not been forthright about the feature of Dream Drive 'standard'. See the launch event, time 6:52-7:00 mark, where Peter says 'Dream Drive Pro delivers expanded set of features today.... highway assist etc'. As a software engineer, I totally get they use the in production system with advanced sensors and enable that first for highway assist. I also believe Lucid's various press releases from 2020 to today, even the one earlier this year were a bit ambiguous about what Dream Drive 'standard' included.

So I called Lucid today, and asked specifically, do you intend to EVER offer something like Highway assist on Dream Drive Standard. They said no. I asked again a different way "are you sure it's not just in development, note how Peter said 'today' during the launch. I won't cancel if you are working on it, that is totally understandable, even if you don't get there for a year or two I am willing to take delivery and be part of the community. They said no."

On this forum there have been mentions that Lucid tried to use a vendor (NVIDIA) for highway assist/regular Autopilot like functionality, but it didn't work out, this supports the case maybe they are working on it & it is delayed. These responses are the main reason I am canceling. Of course in store people told me dream drive 'standard' had Tesla autopilot like Highway Assist, but I have always taken their word with a grain of salt.