Can I use Tesla wheels on the Air?

martinmeyer

Cars
2022 Lucid Air Grand Tour
I just placed my reservation for an Air GT. I'm in Massachusetts, so if I get the 20" or 21" wheels with summer tires I'll certainly need a set of 19's for winter tires. I've been swapping 19's and 21's on my Model S for several years, and don't mind the hassle as a trade off for the nicer look and drive of the 21's. I actually like the slight harshness they bring. Seeing as I'll be selling that Model S soon, I'm going to have to pick which set to sell with it and which to keep/sell separately. This got me thinking though... could I keep the set of 19's and use them on my new Air? I'm not sure what specs determine compatibility for a wheel and car, so I don't know how to check for compatibility.

Has anyone tried using Tesla 19" wheels on an Air, or which which specs I can look up to tell if they would be compatible? It would be really convenient to not have to buy another set of wheels for winter.

Lucid Air 21" Wheel Specs:
Front - 21x8.5 +37 offset
Rear - 21x9.5 +41.75 offset
Bolt Pattern is 5x120mm

Front tires are 245/35/21
Rear tires 265/35/21

I don't know what the center bore of the Lucid 21" wheel is, you will want to ask Lucid. So long as the Tesla center bore is the same or larger than the Lucid you should be OK. In the case the Tesla bore is larger, you will need a hub centering ring. If the center bore of the Lucid is greater than the Tesla, you are out of luck. Or if some kind forum member has a spare set of wheels and a micrometer they can take a quick measurement for you.

As for your Tesla, I think they are 5x120mm. I don't know if that bolt pattern has stayed the same throughout the Model S production, but you should check. If you inspect the wheel, you should be able to find a sticker or a stamping that shows the wheel specs.